The ups and the downs.

I was in a great place the other day – hit my lowest weight in months, maybe even years.  Bad news, it crept right back on.  I suspect this is due to my somewhat relaxed approach to recording my food intake, as my exercise has been rather consistent.

I returned from Denver, and the first day back I was scheduled to do my first 20 minute run with no breaks at all.  I completed that, surprising myself.  Then my plan had me drop back to intervals – 8m run, walk, 5m run, walk, 8m run.   Next day was 10m run, walk, 10m run.  Today it jumps to 25 m run.  No breaks.  Yikes!  I’m scared, but I know if I can do it, I will be very proud.  No, I know WHEN I do it I will be proud.  Challenge right now – wind.  Wind and hills.  I’ve mapped a course for today that has the first mile or so uphill, then the last 1.5 downhill.  I think that will help.

I also purchased a bike – wheeee! It’s been fun to ride for short trips around the neighborhood.

My one letdown – I guess I kind of thought I would arrive in Denver and everyone would tell me how skinny and great I look.  In my mind I’m a changed person.  I guess in reality I still have a long way to go.  There’s something about having the ability to run that fools my brain into thinking I am as skinny as a super model now.  No one really said anything.  Bummer.  There is a part of me, however, that doesn’t care.  I just want to be able to run.  And wear clothes without looking awful.

In other emotional news – all my friends are pregnant.  I’m having a really hard time with this.  Really hard time.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in bike, Denver, intervals, running, training, weight gain, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

