I tried it: anti gravity yoga

I admit it, I’m a sucker for a fitness trend.  Tai Bo, did it.  Spinning, yep, used to be the first one on the waiting list.  Bikrim yoga, did it, blacked out, I guess that’s one way to find your inner peace.   Half marathon, done.  Zumba, too easy.  Kettlebells, too hard.

BUT ANTI GRAVITY YOGA IS THE BEST!  I think I may be forming an addiction.  For those of you who are not familiar, AGY uses a hammock type thing, suspended from the ceiling to do various moves that are similar to traditional yoga moves.   It reminds me a bit of those TRS suspension things (which I have not tried) mixed with Cirque du Soliel aerial moves.  In fact, the studio here in Vegas is owned by a couple of Cirque performers, which was so awesome to me because I think they are truly some of the most amazing and talented performers in live theater.

We started the class by getting into a cocoon.  Oh my.  It was nice.

Image

It was like the picture, except we were more enclosed.

Then we went into some hip stretches, which every runner can always use more of.  We did some lunges, which felt amazing with the back leg extended, and there was a segment of cardio.  But most impressive, we did INVERSIONS!

ImageImage

I did those!  It was so awesome, I’m pretty sure Cirque is ready to hire me, ha!

If there’s an anti gravity yoga studio near you, go check it out.  If you’re in the Vegas area, this is the one I went to http://www.shinealternativefitness.com/  My instructor was very patient and encouraging, especially with my non-graceful, super clutzy self.  They also have pole dancing classes, zumba, contemporary dance, ballet, boxing, aerial silk, gyrokinesis, and stretching and flexibility classes.  I’d also like to mention that ANYONE can do this.  I am a heavy person, and these hammocks hold up to 1,000 pounds, and they support you and make the exercises more beneficial. It’s just about being patient with your body and learning to move a different way. Us runners and triathletes really benefit from doing other kinds of exercises.  I feel like I got a good total body workout, but especially worked my arms, obliques, and abs.  Also my legs got a fantastic stretch, and my hips felt great.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I tried it: anti gravity yoga

  1. Wow! Never done that and I’ve been doing yoga for years. Looks very supportive and interesting. Good post! Elizabeth

  2. That is COOL! 🙂
    I see you’re following me. . . you can unfollow if you want, and head over to my triathlon training blog at http://promisetodad.wordpress.com instead. Far more interesting!

  3. Pingback: A miracle has occurred! | vegastrigirl

Leave a Reply

