Envisioning your race

My sister and I are doing Iron Girl together on May 6th.  This is pretty special to me because it’s the first triathlon for both of us.  She’s totally going to smoke me, and I am cool with it.

I got an email this morning from her, and I wanted to blog what she wrote, because I think it’s so on point and awesome.

Lyndsey wrote “THANK YOU for taking me out to the course in Vegas.  I think it’s made everything more real as I train.  Went to spinning a couple of times last week, and when I turned it up to level 10, I envisioned the first hill, level 8 was Lyndsey Hill.  It’s making things better.”

Lyndsey Hill is the hill that Lyndsey made her bitch when she conquered her downhill fears.

Now I need to take a page from Lyndsey’s book.  I’m starting to get nervous, and doubt my readiness.  Training has been tough the last couple weeks.  My motivation is waning.  I’m tired.  Work is stressful.  I thought this would be easier.  Blah blah blah. I’ve got all the excuses lined up.  I just need to get out there.  Two and a half weeks to go.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Envisioning your race

  1. GOOD LUCK! 🙂 I’m also doing a tri (2 weeks!) and writing about it. You know, it’s a constant mental battle, but I’m doing this as part of Team-In-Training. This is a division ? of the Leukemia Lymphoma Society. I raise enough money for them to pay my entry fee, meals, hotel, TNT race outfit and 80% more to help with LLS research and patient support. In return, they GIVE ME MY OWN COACH (who has been kicking my butt!). It’s been an amazing experience. Every time I feel lazy or tired or overwhelmed, I remember my student, Nick, who has cancer. I sat through his chemo treatments and watched him lose his hair. He’s my “honored hero” and will be there as I do my race! Cheering me on! Make sure you have a fan!!!\
    You can see my blog at http://promisetodad.wordpress.com

  2. Adrianne says:

    You can totally do it! I also have one on May 5 (sprint) and I haven’t done nearly enough but I’m considering this race as a warm up for the rest of the summer (ha! that’s a mental game to help me get through it). The biggest thing on race day – enjoy yourself! Take it all in and be happy when you cross the finish line!

  3. bleediron says:

    When I am trying to get into my race mindset, I do two things:
    1. Look behind. Think through all of your hard workouts, any moments you consider to be a milestone. Think about how many workouts you suffered through, and how far you’ve come in your training. You know your fitness is where it should be, so don’t stress!
    2. Look ahead. Envision the course if you know it, the finish. Whatever helps you get through the race. This sounds stupid but I always picture my legs kicking so hard in the swim, pumping like little pistons on the bike, and just absolutely flying through the run. I try to picture my legs strong and energized, and think even if my mind gets tired my legs won’t stop. I think it helps!

    And one last aside- if you’re tired, rest. The worst thing you can do is just go through the motions in these last, crucial weeks. All of us athletes go through it- we all get worn out and just need a small break. Cut down your workout quantity and just get in quality, confidence building workouts. Your base should there, now it’s time to prep. Make sure your nutrition and sleep are on point and you got it girl! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

