A miracle has occurred!

For months I have suffered from plantar fasciitis.  I have tried everything – corticosteroids, arch supports, ice, golf ball, active release therapy, stretching, splints, compression, rest…. Nothing was working.  I have a triathlon in 2 1/2 weeks.  Walking a mile hurt. 

MIRACLE!!! (cue choirs of singing angels)

I went to a class simply called Flexibility last night at my new favorite place, Shine Fitness, where I recently attended anti gravity yoga (blog).  I was a little intimidated at first because the class was filled with 3% body fat Cirque du Soliel looking people.  Honestly, the total body fat in this 6 person class was about the equivalent of the body fat in my left thigh.  Once the class started I was aware I was the only person that probably can’t hinge at the waist and touch my forehead to the floor.  These people were contortionists.  I’m not exaggerating when I say I saw this:

Image

Uhhhh, yeah.  But the instructor was very cool, and let me go at my own pace and ability level. 

 

As I was driving home, I realized something.  That awful pain in my right foot, the pain I was so sure would never ever go away, was just…. gone!  I got out of my car at home, stood up, and yes, YES, the pain was gone!  I wanted to immediately go run!  I couldn’t believe it.  Tears of joy streamed down my face.  I was ready to send the amazing instructor lavish gifts.  But I knew I wasn’t out of the woods yet.  Plantar is worse in the morning. 

I woke up this morning, and didn’t feel pain, but was nervous that the first thing I would feel when my foot touched the floor was that horrible pain I’ve become so used to.  I’m so happy to report that there is no pain at all!

I feel like I have a new lease on life.  A new body.  Renewed hope and optimism.  Just in time for triathlon season!!

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A miracle has occurred!

  1. bgddyjim says:

    This is going to sound really off, but I used to have Plantars Fasciitis really bad – I found that most of my problems originated with my hamstrings, not my feet – and the hamstrings didn’t hurt all that much as I’m remembering, but my feet, oye, what a mess. Does that make any sense to your situation?

  2. Adrianne says:

    Yep, many don’t look up the chain for other components that need stretching. With that being said, CONGRATULATIONS!! I hope your new lease on life continues 🙂

Leave a Reply

