It was an ass cramp. Sigh.

Eight hours after my dramatic bike ride I had almost no pain or discomfort left.  I couldn’t believe it since after my ride I was nearly immobilized and brought to tears, and for almost 2 hours.  Right now I feel fine. 

I talked with my coach, and she also suspects it was a really huge, massive cramp.  I’ve been instructed to up my electrolytes from now until race day.  I thought I was doing ok with this, but I know it can’t hurt.  I didn’t cramp during my half marathon, but I did during my 2.5 mile open water swim.  So this has happened before.  My plan of action is to prioritize electrolytes (hello coconut water), stretch more, and do a better dynamic warm up next time.  

Any other readers of my blog had similar problems ever?  I’m glad it’s not a muscle injury, but I’d really like to avoid having this happen again!

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It was an ass cramp. Sigh.

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Yes I have… Bananas – lots and lots of bananas. This is one fruit that is a must, even if you hate them. I’m loading up, two a day until my big ride on Sunday (100k)

  2. Salt tablets! In the summer when it’s really hot, I’ll chomp on a salt tablet (wash down with plenty ‘o water) about every 90 minutes I’m out and about. You can get the OTC at any pharmacy.

  3. Salt tablets! In the summer when it’s really hot, I’ll chomp on a salt tablet every 90 minutes (wash down with plenty o’ water). You can get them OTC at any pharmacy.

  4. You’re my favorite person ever!! Your trials and triumphs in beginner multisport are going to speak to, and help many! So proud to coach you!

  5. Adrianne says:

    At least it wasn’t something more serious! Keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

