Forced to slow down

Have I ever mentioned in this blog that I want the tortuga award?  Well, I do.

But I didn’t want to get it this way.

I visited good ole Dr. Victor yesterday.  He did a functional movement screening on me, and then told me I need to take a couple months off triathlon.  He’s ok with me doing Iron Girl, mostly because my parents are treating it like the olympics, but I’ve been advised to cut the rest of my May and June scheduled events.

Sigh.

I know.  It’s better to be healthy, and not injured, and all those things.  But I’m probably moving to Seattle in 6 – 12 months, and I wanted to do as many tri’s out here with my supportive team as I can before I leave.  Who knows if I’ll have the chance to do St. George ever again.  I want to ride through the beautiful mountains of the southwest, with my wet hair dripping on my back while the sun warms my skin and dries my hair.  I want to complain about the Vegas heat, even though I secretly love it. Mostly I want to hear my coach and fellow teammate scream like I just beat a world record when I cross the finish line in the bottom half.

I’m actually taking this really hard.  This is what I do now. This is my life.  This is what makes me happy.  I know it’s only a few months, but it feels like forever.

Another part of me feels a bit of relief.  Finally a break from twice daily workouts.  A chance just to swim, maybe do some relays and maybe win in that division.  Maybe this will help with the cortisol imbalance I’ve been struggling with.  Work’s ramping up too, perhaps now I can focus on that and not have to cut my workouts short, or feel guilty when I leave work after only (gasp) 10 hours so I can get my nightly ride or swim in.  I get get caught up on my reading!

But deep down I know, because I just experienced it last weekend, when I stand on the sidelines and watch I feel sad.  I want to be out there.  It’s going to be a tough couple months.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Forced to slow down

  1. Sandra says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. Just think about how much better you will be when you return! :-/ Hang in there. Take care of yourself now so you can do Tris when you’re as old as me!

  2. Adrianne says:

    I’m sorry to hear this!! I’m curious as to why (maybe I should research deeper in your blog?!)…..if up to it, email me (me@letstriagain.com). Keep your chin up! Always better to be safe than sorry!

    • vegastrigirl says:

      Hi Adrianne,

      I just keep getting injured, and my biomechanics guy said I need to get back to the basics and fix my functional movement, and until that’s corrected, I need to take some time away from high intensity weight bearing exercises. 😦 But I still can swim.

Leave a Reply

