Iron Girl is in the bag!!

Hey hey! My first individual tri is in the books. What a great day! My final time was 2:33, which isn’t top of the pack, but I really don’t care. I’m super proud of my sister who also completed her first tri, coming in 6th in her age group overall, and 1st on the swim. Also, my coach won the whole thing.

I’m pleased to say that I had very little pain or discomfort during the course, and today I feel great, just a bit of soreness. Most of all, I had so much fun!!! Some pictures of the event are posted below…. Now I have to get ready for my relay swim in 2 weeks in St. George.

The morning of, check out my organizational skills!

Image

Pre swim with Lyndsey (my sister)

Image

Lyndsey, 4th out of the water on the swim

Image

Me, coming out of the swim a few minutes after her

Image

Longest….. transition….. ever…..

Image

There’s no pictures of me on the bike, probably because it’s pretty hard to photograph something at 50,000 MPH (no big deal)

Image

Lyndsey looked quite good coming in from the brutal run course – 6 months ago she couldn’t run a mile, yesterday she made a hilly course her bitch, averaging 10 min miles

Image

And…. I won the tortuga award, 16 min miles, meh…

Image

But I was super excited to see my friends and teammates at the finish line

Image

Look how proud my parents are

Image

Here’s some of the people from my tri team that raced that day – me, Crystal, Jamie, Lyndsey and Nancy

Image

One more piece of metal for the rack – might be time to get one of those display things

Image

And, lastly…. I’ve finally done it – I took the buckets off my bike and I’m back to riding clipless again! Woooo!

Image

Thanks for reading, and thanks for all the encouragement along the way!

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Iron Girl is in the bag!!

  1. Adrianne says:

    That is awesome, congratulations!! It doesn’t matter how slow or fast, as long as you finish and have fun!! Way to go!!

  2. Sandra says:

    Yea yea yea yea!!!! Congratulations!!!! I did mine last weekend and know the exhilaration that you feeel!!! Wow, 50,000 miles an hour???? You Rock!!!! Seriously though, you look do happy and all of us out here in bogland are so proud of you. Now, go recover! (when is you next race?)

  3. Sandra says:

    What distance was this?

  4. bleediron says:

    Yay congrats!!! Looks like you had a blast (and great weather!) Hopefully you’ll be back to health and out there in the tri world again soon! Just remember… it never gets less painful, just faster. Happy training 🙂

Leave a Reply

