Gluten free living

Since my mid 20’s my weight has been a problem.  As a teen, I was skinny – tall and lanky, much like my sister, who you can see a photo of in my Iron Girl recap post.  In my head I’m still ridiculously skinny.  I have what some might call reverse-anorexia.  But I’m not blind.  I can see the mirror.  And people are generally kind, but I really value honesty.  One day my biomechanics doc looked at me and asked if I was happy.  And yes, I am happy.  I’ve achieved more than I ever thought I could, but really it’s in spite of my physiology.  He confirmed that by saying “your body doesn’t reflect the efforts you put in, and I think it should.”  Somehow I managed not to burst into tears.

Begin honest reflection.  Yes, I eat clean, over 80% of the time. I’ve got papers to prove it, my blood work shows perfect essential mineral, vitamin, etc. levels.  I do two-a-day workouts most days.  I sleep.  I train. I eat.  I train.  I eat.  I sleep.  I repeat.

So what’s still not right?  I began reading about adrenal fatigue.  So many things hit home.  Then I started reading about wheat.  Even more things made sense.  I’ve cut wheat out of my diet completely.  I’m moving towards a paleolithic approach, which involves also eliminating dairy and sugar.

For the past 3 weeks I’ve been gluten free, with a couple of bumps in the road.  I’m happy to report increased energy, less brain fog, and about a 7 pound weight loss (I’m not exactly sure what my starting weight was).  Best of all, I’ve found my waist.  Before I was a puffy balloon (don’t believe me?  look at Iron Girl pictures).  I’m so optimistic that I’ve finally found something that will really work.

I don’t like to focus too much on weight and body composition, however it does have an impact on race performance.  More importantly, nutrition is so important when it comes to general well being, and for so long I’ve rejected the thought that one little protein (gluten) could be screwing up my life so much.  If you’d like to read more, please check out the book Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis.

(disclaimer – I am in the Amazon affiliates program, so I do get a commission if you purchase this product through my blog)

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten free living

  1. Adrianne says:

    This is something I’ve been teetering on doing as well. I truly think it’ll help. Thanks for posting!!

  2. Just found your blog via Sandra at a Promise to Dad…glad I have! In the same boat as far as weight goes…and I have been eating Paleo (mostly) since January. Not much weight loss. Not sur with training if I am not eating enough or am eating too much… Anyway keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

