Dating and the single triathlete

One thing I’ve observed – all of my triathlon and endurance running friends have spouses / BFs / GFs that also do something that requires serious training and discipline.  I’ve tried dating people outside of this community, and, well, I’m still single.  Too many times I was asked “Can’t you just skip your workout tonight?” (NO) and “Why is your nutrition so rigid?” (because I don’t want to bonk!).

San Diego Fitness Diva hit the nail on the head in her recent blog post Dating a Triathlete:

“I am an active person.” Really means: Aside from my 40 hour job, and the 8 mandatory hours of sleep a night, 10 hours a week are devoted to me during the off-season and 20 during race season leaving us 4 hours. 2 of which are spent inhaling food and you not talking to me, so let’s make the best of the 2 hours we will spend together on average each day. If you are a licensed massage therapist or doctor this would make the most optimal use of our time together. Nutritionist is also acceptable, but I probably already know just as much as you.

When I find a man who understands this, I will have found my match.  Fingers always crossed!

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dating and the single triathlete

  1. I think you’ve hit the nail on the head! I was single for years, then met (and married) a fellow sport-nut through a mutual interest in running and triathlon – he is currently trying to convince me to do an Ironman!

  2. Sandra says:

    I’m one of the lucky ones. Just remarried and my husband has just joined in the triathlon quest 🙂 He’ll always be better than me, but I cannot complain!

  3. Danielle says:

    Haha I love that!
    My husband is not interested in the least in anything physical… he’s rather be fixing trucks, building dune buggies, ect. I told him for my birthday I wanted him to start running with me so we could do a 10K together, and surprisingly he agreed! Should be interesting to say the least

Leave a Reply

