What’s the next big adventure?

Many of you who follow this blog know I’ve been struggling a bit with injuries, illnesses, and fatigue.  My biomechanics guy said I needed to take some time off after Iron Girl, and I relayed St. George after IG anyway, and became ridiculously ill.  That was almost a month ago, and I’m starting to pick my routine back up again, but with a 6 week swim intensive focus.  I know, the swim is my best leg, so it doesn’t make much sense, except when you factor in that my right leg is in almost constant pain despite almost a month of rest.

I’ve been trying to figure out what’s next.  Vegas right now is ridiculously hot, so there isn’t anything happening race-wise right now.  I’ve considered Santa Barbara triathlon in August, as well as the Boulder Sundown in September with my sister.  The part really holding me back right now (aside from my leg pain) is the bike.  It’s just so incredibly hot right now that riding is pure torture.  Yes, I can ride on the trainer indoors, but past experience has proven that I need to get out and hit the hills before race day.  Hills + exercising on the surface of the sun = unmotivating. 

As mentioned before, I’ve been focusing on the swim.  I’m perfecting my technique to improve speed and DPS (distance per stroke).  I started looking today into the Escape from Alcatraz swim, and I think I’m going to do it!  The distance is one I’m used to (1.5 miles), and I’ve swam in choppy cold water before and done really well (read my coach’s Leadman review here).  Now I just have to figure out which event to do.  There’s more than one swim from Alcatraz event, so I’m curious if anyone reading this blog has done it before or has friends that have done it.  I’d love to hear feedback. 

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s the next big adventure?

  1. Sandra says:

    Welcome back, and good luck healing. . . 😦 I’m sorry you’ve had such issues. i understand heat. Tomorrow it’s supposed to be 102 and in the 80% humidity range. I used to live in New Mexico. I can take most heat–as long as it’s dry. Vegas, on the other hand–off the charts. Why do you live there, girl! 🙂
    As far as the Alcatraz swim? Nope. But I have read blogs of folks who have done it. Do a search for tags “Alcatraz swim” and you’ll probably find them! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

