Greetings from San Francisco

A very long overdue hello from SF! Tomorrow I jump off a perfectly good boat into the salty, murky, choppy and shark infested waters of Alcatraz.

As before every race, I’m worried I didn’t practice enough. But I am reassured by the confidence my coach and sister both have in me. And I know I’ve done longer, and possibly even just as difficult conditions (Leadman, aka Deadman).

Just like every other race, I’m overwhelmed with nervous energy, which turns me into an emotional basket case. Every “good luck” I get on my FB feed fills me with feelings of gratitude, love and appreciation.

This is my first solo race, no teammates, no coach, no family. Part of me is so scared I just want to stay in bed tomorrow – who would know? The other part tells me I need this. People used to think this was impossible! And there’s no way I’m missing my amazing coach and friend’s Ironman World Championship race on Sunday for nothing (good luck Nancy).

So I am having my customary pre race dinner of a burger with no bun, fries, and a few beers. I’m breathing deep and thanking my body for the strength to do all these crazy things…. Full race report to follow tomorrow.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Greetings from San Francisco

  1. Sandra says:

    How did you do? I finished my triathlon this morning. Looking forward to your race report!!

Leave a Reply

