My belly, or My Relationship with Food

Through the years I’ve done some pretty awesome things. Things many people think border on impossible. Ha. I’ve done a 1/2 marathon, completed a triathlon, swam from Alcatraz to the shore, and swam an Ironman distance race. Oh yeah, and I taught myself to ride a bike and moved to a different state. Impressive on their own, but perhaps a bit more impressive when you consider I’m probably about 50 pounds above my ideal weight.

Yesterday I decided to try a Barre class. I wasn’t super impressed with the workout, but I was amazed at one thing. I was kicking the skinny girls’ asses. All this time my belly was protruding out like a 6 month pregnant woman’s. I was disgusted. DISGUSTED.

I am living proof that one cannot out train a poor diet. FML.

Never fear my friends. I have a plan. Last night I ordered, and paid for, 6 weeks of healthy meals sent to my door. Evidently I’m doing it wrong on my own, so lets see if this works. The 44 day challenge is on.

I’m in a bit of advance mourning. I love everything about food. I love making food, I love going out for dinner, by myself or with other people. I don’t know how I’ll fill my day without food based activities. I realize this is lame and pathetic. I secretly hope for some kind of minor catastrophe at work just to keep me busy. But how will I cope with that without being able to drink?

I keep telling myself it’s only until the weight is off. Hopefully just 3 or 4 months. I remember dinners I went to with my friend Mimi where she ate nothing. I’m hoping I have that kind of willpower. All I really want in life is to look like the kind of person who can run circles around others. Because that’s who I am.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My belly, or My Relationship with Food

  1. bgddyjim says:

    You may not be able to outrun a poor diet but you can outrun a good diet. For me, the things that kept me heavy stopped being as important when I slimmed up, though it does get easier, it still takes some effort to pass on the bad stuff. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

