Prepare to meet yourself….

I follow some great blogs, and as a result, pick up some great advice.  Some people just say things perfectly, like Lucy Piper:

Prepare to meet yourself. You will come face-to-face with the real you. And the real you is the one that had the extra (five) mini Mars Bars. The real you is the one who skipped cycling training through Christmas and New Year. The real you is the one that snoozed the alarm at 4:30am and stayed in bed instead of training. It’s the real you that has to haul your body and your bike up the hill. And I curse the real me on regular occasions when I’m trying to maintain momentum to stop me from rolling backwards. You are alone, and there is no hiding from the gaps in your training or lack of consistency.

Yep. So true.

Today I jumped on the treadmill and ran for the first time (well, second) since Iron Girl.  Before Iron Girl it had been since the Vegas Half Marathon (Dec 2012).  No, the plantar fasciitis isn’t gone. In fact, it’s worse, probably because I walk about 5 miles a day. But I still love and hate running.  I love feeling powerful.  I hate that it’s been over a year.

I’ll be having a minimally invasive surgery on February 5th to attempt to eliminate the pain.  Results for this procedure are extremely successful, somewhere in the 80 – 90% range, with a short window of recovery.

I’m still insane.  I found a race I want to do in Austin, TX on April 15th. It’s 10 miles.  Can one train for 10 miles in about 4 – 5 weeks? What if I’m super motivated?

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prepare to meet yourself….

  1. Ah shucks, I’m very flattered! Great blog, I will enjoy reading through your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

