Post Surgery update

I’m too much of an optimist.  When my surgeon told me about my surgery I only heard the truly amazing and awesome stories.  Like the one about his patient who was out running a couple weeks after his surgery.  It’s almost 2 months after my surgery, and I’m not ready to run yet.  This is quite disappointing.  I’ve also been significantly improving my nutrition for about the last 2 months and still seeing no results. I’d hoped to be ready to do a sprint tri in May, and it’s not looking reasonable. I keep wondering if I should just push through the pain, maybe this is something that I just have to live with my whole life.

To keep myself busy, and in an effort to stay sane during a pretty stressful time at work, I’ve started doing yoga 2 – 3 days a week. Yoga’s always been a big challenge to me.  Being still is not easy, and I really struggle with downward dog, and the poses that put your body weight on hands and knees.

What I’m really struggling to figure out right now is how I take this to the next level. How do I finally get weight to start coming off? How do I stay on the right path for triathlon season?  Or do I call this season a scratch?

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Post Surgery update

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Can you ride a bike? Maybe just concentrate on that with the low impact for a season? I wish you well. Good luck.

    • vegastrigirl says:

      Hey Jim,

      I can ride a bike. It’s been pretty rainy here (Seattle), but maybe that’s the answer, to just focus on the bike for a season. I just really love race day!

      • bgddyjim says:

        I know what you mean – that burst of adrenaline is awesome, but the cool thing about biking is you have to be pretty hurt to have to abstain from riding, and you can burn a ton of calories riding one.

        If you don’t live in too hilly an area (?) go for an aluminum single gear (not a fixie). Less to break so you can ride in the rain without wrecking drive trains. Good luck. 😉

      • vegastrigirl says:

        Hahaha, Jim, Seattle is almost as hilly as San Francisco! It’s ridiculous. But I do have the hydraulic brakes, which are supposed to be much safer in the rain than calipers. I like the idea of doing an aqua bike, I’m going to look into that.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Ah, internal hub – I don’t know what the technical name for it is – the gears are enclosed in a housing – low maintenance. 😉

  2. tntriathlete says:

    Hi! I found your blog when I got an e-mail about you following mine. I really like your blog and hope you will be posting regularly again. I am looking forward to reading through your archives.

    Since you asked the questions I assume you are welcoming input from more experienced triathletes. First, don’t run before you are ready or this whole surgery could be a waste and you could do more damage. Listen to your body and your doctor.

    Second, treat this time as an opportunity. Since you can bike (and I assume swim), focus on those disciplines. By concentrating on those you can make improvements you never could if you were also running. I have been through this as have many, many of my triathlete friends. You will come back so much faster by having had this focused training time. This has the added benefit of keeping you from going crazy by sitting around thinking about your injury. Avoid that at all costs!

    Finally, the only foolproof method I have ever found to drop weight is to track calories. I use MyPlate at Livestrong.com. It’s ridiculously quick and easy and they have mobile apps. You can save meals and frequently eaten foods so you don’t have to enter them twice. You enter how much you want to lose per week (when training it’s not wise to cut more than 1 lb. per week) and it gives you your calorie goal for the day. The trick is to enter everything and be accurate about portion sizes. But it works.

    Sorry I wrote a book but ask me questions about triathlon and I just start regurgitating years of accumulated information. Someone should benefit from all my mistakes. 🙂 Good luck.

  3. tntriathlete says:

    By the way, if you love racing and you can bike and swim, look for aquabikes! There are more of those around these days. The format is usually swim+bike or rarely swim+bike+swim. These would also help give you motivation to train during this time. I always like to have races on the calendar to look towards. It helps focus my training and motivates me. It might to the same for you.

    • vegastrigirl says:

      Hi there! Thanks for this and the previous comment. I love the idea of an aqua bike, and I’m always motivated by an event. I’m going to look into this, thanks!

  4. Sandra says:

    Oh wow, been there–but a long time ago. When i had ankle surgery, i was so bored i got on the stepmaster while wearing my cast. All that did was cause too much moisture in the cast and mold (yes) and a new cast had to be put on. Stupid decision on my part. The complete ACL was far worse. Good luck and do listen to your body. . .

Leave a Reply

