Yogi-me

Confession:  I’ve always hated yoga.  I’d be in the class, and all of the following issues would be happening: I couldn’t grab my damn foot from a standing position while sweating a gallon a minute, my boobs got in the way, I’m too tall for my mat, the person next to me is annoying, the teacher is annoying, my hair’s in my eyes, and I need to fart. Yes. Seriously. All of those things.

There’s lots of things I don’t like besides yoga in life, such as burpees, riding my bike up hills, squats, and getting out of bed on weekend mornings. But I’ve learned from doing them that there’s always a benefit.  Side note – when will eating ice cream, drinking beer and nachos, and sleeping in become beneficial? Life is full of cruel contradictions. 

In the wake of my foot surgery, as I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve decided I can’t just be lazy until all conditions are perfect to tri train again, unfortunately. I made the decision to sign up for some yoga classes (official curriculum begins next week, I’ve been taking ad hoc classes). Today was my 5th class. I came armed with tools to fight most of the problems listed in my first paragraph: special knee pad things, a fancy headband, an attitude of patience, and a boob reduction (just kidding on that last one). 

I liked class today.  No wait, I loved it. It was really really nice. When your knee isn’t screaming because you’ve been kneeling on it for 10 minutes, the poses are actually quite nice. Today’s class was a “gentle yoga” class, so I did not have to grab one foot while balancing on the other and frantically trying not to topple onto my 98 pound neighbor, which was an added bonus.

I think I’m starting to like this yoga stuff. I like too that I’ve found different personalities in the instructors.  Today’s instructor is the calming, quite voice lady.  The other gentle yoga instructor I go to is the preacher type.  He never stops talking – “Breathe, focus on the breath, don’t think about today, don’t think about tomorrow, just be in the moment, think about your breath, focus, control your breathing, be in the moment” all at about 3 words per second. Then there’s college girl yoga instructor. She likes to talk about her chemistry class, and make yogi jokes. I like them each for different reasons. 

I can’t believe I actually loved yoga today!  

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yogi-me

  1. jeksca says:

    This post made me chuckle. Good job making your own modifications and getting in there and doing it anyways. I LOVE yoga. It did take me a while to not feel like a complete oaf in my classes though. I sweat a lot and I always felt disgusting compared to all the other 98 pound yogi’s in there. I am not 98 pounds. I sweat, I struggle, and I am not nearly as flexible as everyone else but I learned to get over my insecurities in there and love the class. Sigh… yoga makes me happy.

  2. Sandra says:

    Congrats. I need to get back into it, myself. It’s good for the soul. The first one sounds like the only one i would like, truer to the practice of yoga. . .

Leave a Reply

