If I don’t post for a long time, that’s actually a good thing.

About 7 weeks ago now, my awesome boyfriend said “let’s do this Haul Ash bike ride”. Well, I thought, sure, what is it, like 10 miles?

NO. WRONG-O!

42 miles.

I remember suffering through 14 last year during my tri. Thinking there is no way in hell I’d ever exceed that amount.

Just about 11 months later Andrew suggested Haul Ash. I quickly went into type-A mode and made a training schedule:

2013-04-12 18.25.25

 

I was drunk when I created it, by the way. but a schedule was made.  And I do love a schedule.

Weeks passed.  Weeks one and two were hell. Pure hell.  Everything hurt. The bike didn’t fit right. Nothing worked. Oh wait, excuses worked. How could I get out of this workout? Yet I never did. The workouts must continue because they are written down.

The week before “RACE DAY” we did 37 miles. It was comfortable. I had some hope, yet I also thought it could be a fluke. Just the week prior we’d done 30 (ok, so we didn’t follow the plan perfectly), and after I finished I felt like SHIT. Horrible, rotten, stinky shit.

Well race day came:

 

 

20130523-195041.jpg

 

And we did it. We finished! And we weren’t last. Not even close.

2013-05-18 14.46.41

 

That’s my arm. Never quit. I won’t. And I didn’t.

There’s a chapter two.  And I’m giving it it’s own post.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If I don’t post for a long time, that’s actually a good thing.

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Great job! Surprising what we can do when we set our minds to it, eh?

    • vegastrigirl says:

      Or, in my case, switch my doubting mind off and let my strong body take over.

      • bgddyjim says:

        I don’t do well with switching it off, I’ve never been able to do it. Instead, I’ve learned how to combat that first thought when it pops into my head… I know that’s splitting hairs, but the doubting mind never goes away, it won’t let it be shut off and it never rests. Once I learned to fight it on its terms I started winning. 😉

Leave a Reply

