Where do we go from here? (or – Part 2)

I surprised myself and trained for a 42 mile bike race in 6 weeks. And completed the race. comfortably. 

18 months ago I did a half marathon. 

Several times in the past two years I’ve completed open water Ironman distance swims. 

All this to the amazement of myself. 

“Can I do it?”

Nearly every athlete will ask this question at some point over the course of a successful triathlon career. The truth is, anyone can do the distance if they want it badly enough, and every Ironman race includes a large number of first-timers. there is no bigger challenge in triathlon than the Ironman distance, and ultimately the decision is yours and yours alone. The right answer lies inside you. You will do the training, you will make the necessary commitments, and you will miss out on certain other aspects of your life. For many, the trade-off is worth it. 

An athlete is never “ready” for an Ironman-distance race. The event is far too big for that. However, we firmly believe that anyone (and we mean anyone) can complete the distance so long as they have one ingredient: will. The will to train and, most important of all, the will to finish. You have to be doing this for yourself. You have to want to finish, badly. There will be many moments in your training when you will want to quit, but by not quitting you will learn a lot about yourself. You will get stronger, you will change. There aren’t many things in life that give us the opportunity to test our inner strength. The Ironman distance is one of those things. – from Going Long by Joe Friel and Gordon Byrn.

Image

 

I have decided that 2014 is the year of the 70.3. I’ve done them each separately, and lived to tell about it. It’s time to put it all together. 

Because of the foot surgery I had this year, I’ll stick to sprints and maybe an Olympic distance this year. In a few weeks I start running group again.  It’s a bit different from my last running group, which was 1/2 marathon focused. This one is focused on the 5k. When tri season is over I’ll work on building distance. I’ll discuss all this with my tri hero / coach Nancy in June when I am in Vegas. 

All the sudden it feels achievable. For the first time ever. 

Let’s do this. 

Image

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where do we go from here? (or – Part 2)

  1. bgddyjim says:

    Good luck! Looking forward to reading about your progress.

  2. Sandra says:

    Great job! Way to tackle the big goals!! You Can Do This Thing!

Leave a Reply

