The Motivation Myth

My former coach recently wrote a blog post strongly disputing the idea that motivation is some magical thing that people are blessed with, or can get out of a bottle. As usual, I wish she was wrong. I am probably the least motivated person in the world. I have no idea how I ever ended up an endurance athlete, or how I manage to complete one, much less five or six workouts a week.

There are things that help – mostly monetary. I join a running group, which costs a bit, that way I have to go, or else feel the guilt of wasting money (somehow gym memberships do not work the same way). I pay a coach a ridiculous amount of money to write me workouts every month and send me a weekly email asking how things are going. But I do carry around the Blerch, that little asshole that tells me I am entitled to skip a workout, that missing one workout won’t hurt, that I NEED a rest day. Problem is that Blerch is not focused on the end goal, and doesn’t seem to realize that doing an half Ironman on half the amount of recommended training is not going to be especially fun or comfortable or enjoyable.

Blerch also focuses on other people and compares them to me. Blerch is convinced that other people only workout once or twice a week but still win their age groups. Blerch thinks that if they can, I can to. Obviously Blerch is a complete idiot. And an asshole.

So what prompted this post? I missed a workout today. I was exhausted. I couldn’t get out of bed. I have plans this evening, so I will not have an opportunity to make it up. Blerch reset my alarm clock and asked me to cuddle. Blerch didn’t realize that we have to admit this transgression on Training Peaks.

Oh the HORROR!

My coach will see this missed workout. She’s going to tell me it’s ok. I need her to tell me it’s not ok. I need her to tell me that I can only miss one workout a year, and only for a really good reason, like the day that Ben and Jerry’s launches calorie free ice cream and only makes it available in limited quantities for one day only. I need Training Peaks to mock me with a giant sad face on the day. I need Blerch slayers. Calling all Blerch slayers!

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Motivation Myth

  1. Sandra says:

    I got yer back, sister !!!

  2. Sandra says:

    Blerch is a bitch. He’s at my house this afternoon.

  3. vegastrigirl says:

    Ummm, I could swim @ 11 PM when I’m done with dinner? Or just forgive myself and move on?

Leave a Reply

