End of tri season, and new things I can’t live without

My 2013 tri season ended last weekend.  I’d been very sick in the days leading up to the race, and I didn’t have the easiest race. Despite that, my times in all 3 legs were faster than last year, so no complaints here.   Next race is the Sharkfest swim in Boston in a week and a half. I love swim races – it’s quiet, very little equipment to malfunction, no hills (just chop), and it’s my strongest discipline.

 

I want to share with all of you some new additions to me Things I Can’t Live Without section. First up TRISLIDE.  This stuff is awesome, and just for reference, I’m not one to sing the praises of Body Glide.  TRISLIDE is so much better than Body Glide because it doesn’t wash or rub off.  Last year I used Body Glide for my Escape From Alcatrez swim, and within 10 minutes I was chafing horribly around the neck of my wetsuit.  For weeks I looked like a teenage girl who’s boyfriend went nuts on her neck.  Not the case with TRISLIDE.  I used it for this weekend’s race, and it didn’t wash off, and at the end of the race, after nearly 2 hours, I still had still had that nice slick feel everywhere I’d applied.  And taking off my wetsuit in T1was super-fast.  ‘Nuff said, MUST HAVE.

 

Next item – the Waterproof Ipod Shuffle and Swimbuds. I know, I know, on race day you can’t listen to music.  That doesn’t mean you have to suffer through long training sessions.  The earbuds are fantastic, and the music really keeps me motivated in the pool.

 

I don’t listen to headphones on the bike, I’m too accident prone, but when I have really long rides I like to have some tunes.  I use the Topeak Case to hold my phone.  It’s mounted right on the stem, and my phone slides in easily. The actual holder is quite small, and I don’t notice it when I’m riding without my phone mounted in.  This is also awesome for when I’m on the trainer and want to shoot out a quick text.

 

My last recommendation is the Feed Zone Portables book.  I’m trying my best to eat only foods that actually occur in nature, which do not include Goos, Powerbars, and the like.  With one exception, I do have a weakness for Jelly Beans with Caffeine.  But I digress.  Food Zone Portables is awesome.  It has suggestions in both savory (protein) and sweet (carbs) categories.  The recipes vary in difficulty, although most are more on the easy side.  The instructions are very easy to follow, and the food is delicious.

 

As a closing note, I was thinking about this entry and what I would write about last night as I was packing for the gym for a swim workout.  I was patting myself on the back for how organized I always am, and taking note of the fact that I keep 2 pairs of goggles in my swim bag.  I got to the gym, got in to the water, swam about 500 until I realized…. I didn’t have a towel.  Sad.

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to End of tri season, and new things I can’t live without

  1. Sandra says:

    Excellent choices. I’ll have to try triglide–the other is far easier to find, so that’s what I’ve ended up with.
    Glad to hear you had a great season. I have to kiss the last one (two) of my season goodbye. Sick for the Topeka and now I’m injured for the Olathe. Booooo!

  2. jeksca says:

    I never even thought about a wetsuit chafing. I clearly know absolutely nothing about swimming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

