I guess this is really happening….

Yesterday I quickly signed up for the Lake Stevens 70.3 Ironman in August of 2014. I was nervous thinking about it all day, and now I feel less nervous, and more a feeling of dread.  So. Much. Training.  So many hills.  How do I swimbikerun for that long?  Is there time to stop for a cheeseburger and a nap?

I’ve tried to go back and think about what motivated me to even start thinking about the 1/2 Ironman distance.  It’s something about needing to know that I can.  I already know I can do the swim, the bike, and the run.  But putting them all together is the next big challenge.  And then, when does it become enough? Two years ago I thought I could never do a 1/2 marathon. Done. So now I need to do it after I bike for 56 miles.  Then I think about that and it terrifies me.  People have tried to reassure me, after all, that’s almost a year away.  But it’s still a really long day of exercise. Really long. 

Adding to my feelings of dread is that my training environment is different in Seattle than it was in Las Vegas.  I belong to a team, and they’re somewhat social, but it’s just not the same.  Maybe it’s because I’m the noob in the group and I don’t have the bonds formed yet, but I still feel like a bit of an outsider.  My boyfriend has been dealing with some back pain and doesn’t want to do long rides with me.  I’m at something of a point where I just want to curl up in to a ball and retreat from training for a bit. I won’t. But I want to. The idea of a 30 mile ride seems so difficult, and long, and lonely.  I guess I’m at my first mental roadblock.  If I could have just one wish right now, it would be for a training buddy. 

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I guess this is really happening….

  1. bgddyjim says:

    It took two whole seasons before I started working into my club. Keep at it, it’ll happen – but no matter what, don’t give up. You’ll get there.

  2. Adrianne says:

    Congrats!! I’m teetering on whether to sign up for a 70.3 myself! Scary as crap isn’t it?!?!

  3. Sandra says:

    Yup, Don’t give up!
    And I just signed up for a half marathon. That alone scares the shit out of me. 🙂

    • vegastrigirl says:

      I did my first (and so far only) half marathon without even being able to run a mile… I mean, I put in the distance training, but it was all run / walk. So don’t be scared. There’s options. Hopefully you’re training with a group?

  4. That was my first Ironman 70.3 and I’ve done it twice now. It’s a solid race, the swim is gorgeous, but the bike definitely has some interesting hills. When I was training in Vegas, I did a lot of riding out in Red Rock Canyon, but since I’m in Reno, I have my hills in my backyard. 🙂 Elevation wise, it isn’t a very high race either. Be sure to have fun!

Leave a Reply

