Running mantras

I’m finally becoming more comfortable when running.  When I say more comfortable, I mean that I have improved from “oh my god this sucks so bad, my legs hurt, my knees hurt, everything hurts, this is so hard, how do people do it” to running without thinking about it.  Now when I run I kind of zone out, thinking about the scenery, thinking about work, thinking about where to go on vacation.  In other words, I’m finally relaxed, like I feel when I’m in the pool.  It’s delightful. Of course, now that I’m running in pure zen (mostly), when I’m disrupted from it, by something annoying like a HILL, it’s quite jarring.

Hills are the biggest disruptor.  There I am, running along, thinking about rainbows and unicorns, when, BAM, all the sudden running is hard again.  No fair! But I came up with my own mantra to keep me going on those hills.

Drum roll please.

What is hard today will be easy tomorrow.

And then I don’t want to quit.  Because I know it’s a fact!

What kind of self-talk do you use?

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running mantras

  1. bgddyjim says:

    I don’t use the self-talk until I start to want to quit or slow down. Once that starts the self-talk isn’t fit to print.

    For the hills I’ve always tried to keep my pace or speed up going up then rest going down… After a while the hills weren’t such a big deal – and they definitely didn’t pull me out of the zone. Glad to read that it’s getting better for you. Great news!

  2. Great thoughts, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

