Apologies for the hiatus

Hi all,

Apologies for the lack of posts.  I’ll sum up quickly what’s been happening:  moved to a new house on the lake, love running by the lake, running was going so well, then….. boom.  I have gigantic cysts on my ovaries.  The pain has gotten so bad that I can’t run (hurts more when I run).  Naturally I had a meltdown of epic proportions when I figured out I couldn’t do the half marathon I had planned for January.  Biking seems to be ok, so I’m doing as much of that as I can tolerate – with the sun coming up at 8 AM and going down at 4:30 PM I’m stuck with the trainer during the week, and chilly rides on the weekends.  My gym’s pool is under construction, so I have not swam in ages. I feel like a lazy ass loser. Sometimes I get really down about this, but I am trying not to be too hard on myself, and I know that in a couple months I can get back on my training regimen.  I’ll have surgery on January 15, recover for three weeks, then I’m off to London for fun, and when I return, I should be healthy and recovered enough to slowly start training again. Sigh.  I guess better now than in the middle of the season.

Speaking of the season, I’ve been a little intrigued by the idea of Cross Fit lately. I’ve read all the good and bad reviews, and the horror stories, so no need to try and freak me out. But for some reason I’m drawn to the idea of strength training all the sudden.  Any triathletes do CF?

Image

In other news, I have a new favorite cookbook. Glorious One Pot Meals. The basic idea is that you throw a bunch of stuff in a dutch oven (in a certain order, this will appeal to your OCD type-A mentality) put the dutch oven in the oven, go do a 45 minute workout (see what I did there?) and when you return, you will have an amazing, balanced meal.  Our workouts are hard.  Cooking should be easy.

So there you have it friends.  An update on life and training and my own self pity, my dreams of weightlifting, and great ways to fuel the beast. I probably will not update prior to surgery, unless I have something interesting to say.  And now I will try to go catch up on all the blogs I’ve missed!  Cheers!

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apologies for the hiatus

  1. rachelaugh says:

    Check out Crossfit. I love it, it’s been the only workout I’ve done (besides playing softball and volleyball recreationally) since May 2013. 🙂

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

