21 Day Challenge

Cheers and hello to everyone from your often absent for long periods friend (me).  It’s been a long cold winter, one surgery done, and recovering nicely.  It’s nice to see the green blades of grass poking through the dirt all around my house, reminding me that soon it will feel good to be outside, without cold wind and rain blowing in my face. 

I’ve been convinced by a nutritionist friend of mine to try a 21 day challenge.  It involves working out just 30 minutes a day, although I am trying to add in 3 days of running on top of that.  Mostly the focus is on tightening up the nutrition.  Lots of veggies, lots of lean protein, some fruits and healthy carbs, and some healthy fat as well.  Each day I pop in a workout DVD, made by our friends at the Beachbody company (I know, I know, pyramids, referrals, auto renewals, shakes, ugh! but I’m trying it).  A peppy fitness model tells me I can do it, I sweat, and take a moment to observe that at least there are some normal sized people on the DVD, then update my coach and fellow participants via a private Facebook group. 

The food prep is overwhelming.  They don’t have specific recipes or anything that I am required to follow, but if I’m really honest, I’ve never planned out my food like this.  Today was the first day, so I’m sure it will get easier.  It’s a nice distraction though, as I’ve been feeling a bit gloomy lately.  Perhaps it’s the Seattle winter.  Perhaps it’s something else. But it is nice to do something that has a start and end date.

Cheers, to Veggies!

 

 

 

 

About vegastrigirl

I'm a tri baby who's just started to participate in this crazy circus of triathlons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 21 Day Challenge

  1. Sandra says:

    Just want you to know I miss your posts. I cannot believe it’s been a year.

Leave a Reply

